What writers say about Writing

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

-Ernest Hemingway

 

“Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsession mercilessly.”

-Franz Kafka

 

“The greatest part of a  writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.”

-Samuel Johnson

 

“One thing that helps is to give permission to write badly. I tell myself that I am going to do my five or ten pages no matter what, and that I can always tear them up the following morning if I want. I’ll have lost nothing —- writing and tearing up five pages would leave me no further behind than if i took the day off.”

-Lawrence Block

 

“You can be insecure and be writer. You can be unsuccessful and be a writer. You can be a bad person and be a writer.You can be a drinker, a procrastinator, a freak. You can be compulsive,dependent, delusional, manic. You can be under house arrest. You can be on medication. You can be wrong. And be a writer. You just have to write. That’s where it gets tricky.”

-DBC Pierre

 

“As a writer, I’m more interested in what people tell themselves happened rather than what actually happened.”

-Kazuo Ishiguro

Leave a Reply

